CWM

I Am No Longer Following “The Following”

In Uncategorized on April 11, 2013 at 10:04 am

Image

Last night I watched “Whips and Regrets” and decided prior to viewing this episode, that this one was going to be the make or break episode for me. If I felt like I didn’t have to question every single decision that everyone makes on this show in this episode, which I have been doing for a majority of the episodes, I would continue watching it.

For those who don’t know what “The Following” is about, it tells the story of serial killer Joe Carrol (James Purefoy) as he attempts to ruin and destroy Ryan Hardy (Kevin Bacon), an F.B.I. agent who originally caught Caroll back in the day. Carroll, using his army of minions, decides that he is going to write a book and is casting Ryan as the hero and due to this, he provokes and prods Ryan in order to engage in various scenarios. Oh yeah, as if things didn’t get any weirder, Ryan and Joe share a common love interest Claire (Natalie Zea) who Carroll utilizes to get Hardy off his butt and acting like the hero that he dreams Ryan could be.

“The Following” derives its name from the army of minions at Carroll’s disposal mainly consiting of a few integral individuals such as Emma (Valorie Curry), Jacob (Nico Tortorella), and Paul (Adan Canto). These individuals bring their own separate arcs to this show without doing much else. 

I apologize if my synopsis appears somewhat vague and uninspiring, but if you haven’t seen it, I don’t want to spoil too much for you. But, I will say this, despite what my previous post said, this show is not worth it in my opinion. If you want to hear why and don’t mind being spoiled, then read below! *Spoilers*

Claire Matthews. Does she do anything other then demand where her son is? Anything else? In the episode prior to this one, she decides to leave the safety of Ryan and join Joe’s clan so she can see her son. Then once she arrives, she tries to escape and demands to see her son. Seriously? who is writing for this character? Does she not think through any action she takes? Does she think it will be a walk in the park to escape Joe’s compound with Joey at her side? Apparently she does. And to add insult to injury, she knows that there is a cult following Joe, does she truly believe that there are only 4 members to this cult? I guess she does because she was shocked and dismayed that she would be forced to interact with Joe at his compound and ohmygod, she’s going to be kept as a prisoner, the nerve of these cult members. This show could benefit a lot from a little dose of long-term thinking for Claire.

Is anyone, any single person, in the F.B.I. other then Ryan, Debra, and Mike Weston, capable of taking out any of these cult members? Any single person? I feel like every single other person within the F.B.I. is either young, stupid, or both. in this episode, a lone agent decides to explore an abandoned hallway within the catacomb armory and low and behold he gets killed. Why oh why does nobody on this show learn from anyone else’s mistakes. Why did their radios suddenly crap out? Why do the F.B.I. have such terrible radios? Why is nobody pairing up? This was just one of many cliche moments that is quickly making this show appear unoriginal.

And now Ryan’s neighbor is in on it? And Joe watches them as they engage in sexual relations? Seriously? Is Ryan going to find out that “The Following” is actually the entire population of the United States minus a few select individuals? Is Ryan’s grandmother in on it too? I was fascinated by this idea in the first episode, but I quickly become overwhelmed by just how large “The Following” really is. It’s too much.

So that’s about it. I am done with “The Following”. This show intrigued me in the beginning but I quickly found myself time and time again suspending my disbelief, and trying to understand how the F.B.I. can act some incompetently.

 

  1. Aha! Told you! i still think that the one FBI agent whose parents were in a cult is in on it. I gave up too!

  2. […] I Am No Longer Following “The Following” on Movies & Such With Clayton […]

Leave a Reply

