CWM

And the Oscar Goes to…….

In Awards on February 25, 2013 at 10:28 am

Last night was the Oscars and unless you live under a rock, have no interest in movies, or are in a loony bin, you would know this. I was pleasantly surprised with the winners, saddened by the losers, and dismayed as to who didn’t get nominated. For goodness sake where was my “Cloud Atlas” nomination? Despite having an amazing makeup team and an amazing score, this film wasn’t nominated for anything. And no Leo or Samuel? What? Why the heck not. Seriously though, when Leo wins an Academy, mark my words he will, I will go nuts. Like footprints on the ceiling nuts.

So I’m going to offer you, my amazing audience, my take on the Academy Awards and who I thought should have won or who most certainly deserved to win. I will only offer my take on movies I have seen or feel very strongly about.

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence for “The Silver Linings Playbook”.

Did she deserve this? 100% yes. She was absolutely great in this film. She portrayed a manic individual to a t and God help me I love Sally Field but Jennifer totally deserved this. I seriously hope that she gets some hella great work following this because I am super excited to her career.

Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway for Les Mis

Did she deserve this? Sadly, I cannot say. I didn’t see the movie but from what my girlfriend said, she totally did. And I’m going to agree with her on this. A lot of people don’t like Anne for some reason, no idea why she was an amazing Catwoman, but from what I saw from her singing and acting, I too believe that she deserved this win.

Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz for D’Jango Unchained

Did he deserve this? Oh hell yes. This man was phenomenal in D’Jango and when he is given a Tarantino script, he can do no wrong. Seriously, he was great in “Inglorious Basterds” and he completely became Schultz for this movie. I don’t have any qualms with who should have won for this one because I completely believe that Waltz deserved this.

Best Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino for D’Jango Unchained

Did he deserve this? Absolutely. Without a doubt. My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of watching “Pulp Fiction” this past weekend and I can never get over how wonderful that script is. Tarantino has a thorough understanding for how people talk, how people sound, and what a damn good conversation sounds like. He is able to insert this funny quips while also containing some hellishly dramatic dialogue as well. Congratulations Tarantino, you absolutely deserve this.

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis for Lincoln

Did he deserve this? My man Daniel Day-Lewis deserves every damn award he reserves. Ever scrap of recognition that is thrown his way. Any bit of praise that this man receives, he deserves. He was wonderful in “Lincoln” truly becoming our 16th president. He had the gait down, he had the speeches down, he was good ol’ honest Abe and I truly believe that he deserved this win.

Best Animated Feature: Brave

Did this deserve it? I’m going to say no, however know this I did not see this film. One of the reasons I say no was because many believe that this film won simply for the design of the hair for the main character. Now, if this was a deciding factor, then I would have to say I don’t agree with it because there are other categories where this could have been featured. I was pulling for “Wreck it Ralph” because that was such a great story with an amazing cast set in amazing universe, but sadly this did not get the win. If “Brave” won for its story and its design, then I congratulate it.

Best Adapted Screenplay: Chris Terrio for Argo

Did he deserve this win? I would go with a slight yes, because I do love Tony Kushner and I though the screenplay he wrote for “Lincoln” was incredible. That being said, I did like the screenplay for Argo but I do feel that it wasn’t a strong screenplay because, currently, it doesn’t stand out in my mind.

Best Director: Ang Lee for Life of Pi

Did he deserve this? Sadly, I did not see the film and I do regret it. I was pulling for “Silver Linings Playbook” as well as “Lincoln” but I’m nice enough to admit defeat. Ang Lee was modest on stage and appeared truly grateful for the award he received. Because of this, I will see “Life of Pi” to see just how good this film was and he deserved this win.

Best Song: Adele for Skyfall

Did she deserve this? Yes. A resounding yes. This song is not only catchy but is possibly one of the best Bond songs I have ever listened to. And her voice. Sweet Jesus her voice is incredible. She completely deserved this win. Congratulations Adele.

Best Picture: Argo

Did this film deserve it? I’m on the fence about this. Don’t get me wrong, I loved this film but I was rooting for “Lincoln” and “D’Jango Unchained” but I will have to hand this one over to Affleck. He was great in this movie and great behind the camera as well, however, I still have a huge problem with the fact that they did not put a Latin actor in front of the camera and tried to Italianize the main character, changed Antonio to Tony. Ben Affleck should have stepped aside and allowed someone closer to Antonio Mendez’s ethnicity to stand in the spotlight. If that happened, I would be absolutely fine with this film winning Best Picture.

A final thought, to all of those people out there commenting on Adele’s weight while she was singing. Grow up or drop it. One or the other. She’s a great singer and by only focusing on her weight you’re destroying only your own credibility. Women and men come in all different shapes and sizes and only little kids in school yards pick on each other because of it. So seriously, grow up.

Also apparently The Onion tweeted calling Quvenzhané Wallis a cunt. Seriously, there is a line to humor. Lines that keep comedians and writers from being offensive. Tweeting something like that to a nine-year old, the youngest nominee in history, is completely offensive. Completely uncalled for. Completely disgusting. Realizing that they did something wrong, The Onion deleted their tweet. Best part about Twitter, is that deleting a tweet doesn’t remove it completely. So way to go Onion. You found that line and you crossed it. Let’s hope you don’t cross it ever again. 

 

Leave a Reply

