CWM

Deviously Delicious Dexter

In Television on December 19, 2012 at 1:47 pm

Well boys and girls, the 7th season of “Dexter” has finally come to an end, sadly, but it did end well, I have to say. Not as well as season finale for season 4, but then again that finale is one of my top ten favorites out of any show that I watch. So for those who don’t know, “Dexter” starring Michael C. Hall, tells the story of Dexter Morgan who is the heroic cereal killer, killing only those who have slipped through the judicial cracks. Dexter is also a blood analyst working underneath his foster-sister Deborah, played by Jennifer Carpenter, who thinks there is more good in Dexter then bad. “Dexter” also stars David Zayas has Angel Batista, a cop with a conscious   Lauren Velez playing Maria LaGuerta, an obsessive power-hungry cop,  Desmond Harrington, playing Joseph Quinn, a cop who doesn’t really bring a lot to the table, and James Remar, who plays Harry Morgan, Dexter’s father and also his conscious helping Dexter stay within the “code” although this code does change quite frequently.

Season 7 pits Dexter against LaGuerta, Isaak Sirko, played phenomenally well by Ray Stevenson, and Hannah McKay, for a bit at least, played by Yvonne Strahovski. While trying to evade capture, Dexter takes on one enemy and falls in love with another, all while in beautiful Miami. Dexter works to try to shift the ever tightening noose around his neck, while protecting his sister and his son, Harrison played by Evan George Kruntchev, doing what he does best, killing.

As far as finales go, this one was good. Without giving anything anyone, it left me in some form of suspense, but not a cliff hanger. I enjoyed it, but I was expecting a bit more following Deborah’s actions. But, I wish to say more! So be warned, SPOILERS AHEAD!

I liked that Hannah McKay escaped and I think that she and Dexter are going to run in the final episode of season 8. I honestly thought that was going to occur this season BUT seeing as the next season, is the last season, it makes more sense to occur there. I really do like her character and I am super glad that she didn’t die and know that they will bring her back for season 8.

I loved the development of Isaak. He was a damn good villain, who killed for what many people can related to, love. It almost makes him more heroic then Dexter who kills for necessity, rather then emotion. I loved the dialogue between him and Dexter and I just loved how well he captured that character. I hope Stevenson goes on to bigger and better things following this.

I liked that LaGuerta died. I may sound awful for saying that, but I know she had to go and I like that the writers were logical about that. One tenent within Dexter’s “code” is to not get caught and LaGuerta was going to be the one that caught him, so she had to go. The way they did it, however, was unique and clever. Now Deb and Dexter are in this together, way more than they ever were before. I liked it, but I was expecting some shocking reveal after we saw Dexter and Deb arrive at the New Years Eve party. Which brings me to my next point.

I liked the juxtaposition of  LaGuerta’s death with New Years. Many associate New Years with time to change things, to improve one’s life. Out with the old and in with the new. But due to the choices made by Deb and Dexter, their new year is going to be much worse and may consist of the old behavior.

I liked that they ended that whole unusual foster-sister love relationship that was revealed at the end of season 6. It was too much, even though they are not related to each other, and I did not enjoy seeing it. Especially now that Hall and Carpenter are no longer married.

I did not like the Quinn story line for this season, more specifically, I didn’t like how it ended. He just seemed kind of bummed out and powerless, which he wasn’t. I think he figured out he was used, but I would try to track down Nadia, and give her a nice stern talking to. Also, it was soooo typical Quinn that his girlfriend was a stripper.

So there ya have it. Let me know what you think about this finale so I can vehemently disagree with you and spam your email.

Leave a Reply

