CWM

Cloud Atlas(t)!

In Movies on November 10, 2012 at 5:51 pm

Okay, that pun wasn’t that great, but the movie itself was! “Cloud Atlas”, directed by Tom Tykwer, Andy Wachowski, and Lana Wachowski stars Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Huge Weaving, Jim Broadbent, Jim Sturgess, Doona Bae, Ben Whishaw, creepy Keith David, Susan Sarandon, Hugh Grant, and James D’Arcy. This all-star cast play many different roles within this film jumping sex and race to tell the story of love, triumph, oppression, evil, and freedom. “Cloud Atlas” contains within it 6 different time lines all telling different stories but containing the same themes. One story takes place in a post apocalyptic future where The Fall has occurred and humanity is basically in the Iron age. Another time line occurs during the 70s when a nosy reporter tries to uncover the secrets to a nuclear power plant while putting her life into danger. There are so many amazing roles, amazing shots, and amazing makeup.  These actors did the near impossible with this book adaptation but did it successfully. The adaptation of this book was also accomplished so well, thanks to the directors, with a few changes here and there that didn’t alter much. BUT!! I suggest that you read the book, before seeing this movie, because I loved the movie and understood what was occurring with much more ease. The book also offers a lot more character development within it, which is great, but lacks the flow and the wonderful ending that the directors gave to this film, so before I get to the nitty-gritty, GO SEE THIS MOVIE! It was amazing, tear-jerking, and totally worth the price of admission. I will probably even buy this film when it comes out.

Likes:

I loved the portrayal of the Zachary story and the conclusion that the story held within it. The comet on the back of his head. Ugh! I loved it!

I also loved the loss of love within one time line, Sonmi, and the completion of this love within the Ewing story. I loved how this occurred for the Luisa Rey and Zachary story, as well.

Hugo Weaving was phenomenal in this film. I absolutely hated him as Old Georgie, he was super creepy, and I loved his role as Adam Ewing’s father-in-law. He was just pure evil, even as Nurse Noakes! He played those roles with such determination and I think he should get some sort of acknowledgment for it.

This movie had some of the best lines that I have experienced in a while. Sweet Jesus. Hugo Weaving’s monologue, Sonmi’s monologue. I just loved it all and thinking about it now, even brings a bit of a tear to my eye. Especially, Frobisher’s last few words, “I believe there is another world waiting for us, Sixsmith. A better world. And I’ll be waiting for you there”

And of course, I loved Ben Wishaw as Robert Frobisher. That character was drastically changed from the book, he was not gay, nor in love with Jim Broadbent, but I loved what they did with that. He was truly a tragic figure.

Dislikes:

There was a lot more to the Sonmi story-line  that I really wish they showed. The audience would have felt for her so much more and her struggle against society would have been so much more profound.

I also wish they added a few more characters to the Luisa Rey story and developed that a bit more. In the book, so much more happens and the plot is thickened even more but it does not suffer from this.

Nothing else. Seriously. This movie was excellent. And should take home a bunch of Oscars.

  1. […] Alderaan Places, The Republika, The AP Book Club, Les Fleurs de Maraschine, Kitty Lambda, Movies & Such With Clayton, My Entertainment World, Pierced To The Heart, Lake Forest CA Patch, Chronicle; The Conversation, […]

Leave a Reply

