CWM

(F)Lawless? Not Really. But, it’s still good

In Movies on September 17, 2012 at 10:59 pm

Yesterday I had the pleasure of viewing “Lawless” at my local chlorine ridden theater and I was rather pleased with my choice.

“Lawless” depicts the struggles of outlaw moonshining brothers Jack Bodurant, Shia LaBeouf, Forrest Bondurant, Tom Hardy, and Howard Bondurant, Jason Clarke as they take on Charlie Rakes, Guy Pearce, who wants to charge them making liquor and ensures that by doing so he will not harm them. However, the Bodurants will not stand down to NOBODY and fight the man who intends to do them harm. Gary Oldman is also present in this film as Floyd Banner,gangster, who sadly doesn’t have that much screen time. This is based upon a surprisingly true story that took place in Franklin County Virginia.

I was interested in this story because, I love this genre. I love outlaws, love guns and violence, and love Gary Oldman and Tom Hardy. I will honestly watch anything with them in it. So it’s no surprise that I went and saw this movie and enjoyed it, but I did not love it. There were some parts of it that I truly enjoyed from Guy Pearce’s creepy portrayal of Charlie Rakes who has a part so damn perfect that it looks like he had to shave a little bit of hair from the center of his forehead. I also liked Shia. A lot of people have given him a lot of grief for the Transformers movies but I liked him in them, I liked him in “Disturbia” and I also liked him in “A Guide to Recognizing Your Own Saints”. If you haven’t seen this movie and you still hate Shia, watch it and let me know what you think. I also liked some of the silhouette shots that occurred within the movie. There weren’t many of them but they were still very powerful and very well done. Lastly, I loved Tom Hardy. I thought he was a great powerful, slow to anger, invincible character and he played him so well. He was the Bondurant legend in the flesh who not only created the legend but fueled it.

The aspects I did not enjoy about this movie was the little screen time that Gary Oldman had, the romance between Jack and Bertha Minnix, Mia Wasikowska, and Howard Bondurant. I felt that the romance between Jack and Bertha was rushed because the director only had so much time to portray this romance, Forrest’s romance, and the impending doom that was Charlie Rakes. I guess what I’m saying is, is that if they don’t have the time to develop something then maybe it shouldn’t be developed. I also thought Jason Clarke’s character just kind of existed. He didn’t seem to amount too much, other than drinking, and he didn’t offer much to the viewer, up until the end. He was simply there and didn’t seem to bring anything to the screen.

That being said, I think you should check this movie out on Netflix or rent it, when it comes out. If you can catch it in a cheap theater, then by all means do it, but definitely do not pay 11 bucks to see this movie.

  1. Nick Cave (one of my favorite musicians) wrote the screenplay and is the musical genius behind the soundtrack.

    • I enjoyed the soundtrack a lot, now that you mention it. Reminded me a lot of “Oh Brother Where Art Thou”.

Leave a Reply

